AIA Northern Virginia
The Chapter House is temporarily closed, but all member services are available by emailing

2019 Interschool Student Design Competition Winners
Posted Friday, October 11

For over two decades, the three metro area chapters of the AIA, six local schools of architecture, and the National Building Museum (NBM) have collaborated to organize the annual ISDC. The competition took place at the NBM on September 22, 2019.

This year’s challenge, developed by Howard University, was a National Immigration Memorial. The main objective of this program was how architecture, specifically a pavilion, can transmit the idea of immigration and multiculturalism, and how it can relate to so many different experiences. The site was to contain a number of features, both architectural and landscaped. The primary focus is a pavilion (or series of pavilions) with exhibits dedicated to the immigrant experience.

Congratulations to the winning teams!

First Place - Team 4: Solomon Alvarez-Gibson (Howard); Sharon An (Virginia Tech); Jeremiah Jones (UDC); Melonee Quintanilla (Maryland); Bryan Joseph Ward (Catholic); and Stephanie Walker (Morgan State)

Second Place - Team 1: Sara Alkhatib (Virginia Tech); Najd Alnajidi (Virginia Tech); Khalil Campbell (Morgan State); Allison J. Davin (Catholic); Shalena Dupree (Howard; and Mohammed Kahtani (UDC)

Third Place - Team 3: Akiel Allen (Morgan State); Gino Bretana (Catholic); Aaron Harris (UDC); Ayman Lawal (Howard); Gesine Pryor Azevedo (Maryland); and Xu Zhang (Virginia Tech)

Honorable Mention - Team 7: Omar Abdelrahman (UDC; Christine Griffith (Howard); Juanita Li (Maryland); Monique Robinson (Morgan State); Luke Rumage (Virginia Tech; and Sebastian VanDerbeck (Catholic)

Thank you to our sponsors:
Platinum: NCARB
Gold: Jacobs
Silver: AECOM (1st Prize Sponsor)
Newman Architects (2nd Prize Sponsor)
Wiley Wilson and ASLA (Kick-Off Event Sponsors)
Bronze: 17/27 Design Studio (3rd Prize Sponsor) and Lennar

Participating schools: The Catholic University of America; Howard University; Morgan State University; University of the District of Columbia; University of Maryland; and Virginia Tech Washington-Alexandria Architecture Center.

Thank you to our judges: Gerdo Aquino, FASLA (Lead Juror); Anna Barbour, AIA, LEED AP BD+C; Claire Dickey, AIA, LEED AP BD+C; Ryan Moody, ASLA; and Jared Zurn, AIA.

Thank you to our Kick-Off Speaker: Glen LaRue Smith, ASLA

Additional information and photos are available at

[back to front page]