AIA Northern Virginia
James M. Scott Exceptional Design Awards
Posted Wednesday, August 28

Established in 1984, the Fairfax County Exceptional Design Awards recognize achievement in the total design of a building and its site. The awards aim to raise awareness of outstanding planning and design projects among design professionals and the general public.  The design awards program is sponsored by the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors and administered by the County's Department of Planning and Development in cooperation with the County Architectural Review Board and the Northern Virginia Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Congratulations to the winning firms:

Honor Awards
Architecture, Incorporated – Inova Sports Medicine
Perkins Eastman – George Mason University Peterson Family Health Sciences Hall
Shalom Baranes Associates – Signature at Reston Town Center

Merit Awards
DBI Architects – Caboose Commons
HKS Architects; Bonstra|Haresign Architects; Callison RTKL – Capital One Headquarters
Perkins Eastman – Langley High School
Shalom Baranes Associates – VITA Tysons

Honorable Mention Awards
Bowie Gridley Architects – John Marshall Library
HKS Architects – The St James Sports and Wellness Complex
MTFA Architecture – Hollin Meadows Elementary School
R2L:Architects – EXO

Images of all the award-winning projects are available at

[back to front page]