AIA Northern Virginia
Lead Image
The Chapter House is temporarily closed, but all member services are available by emailing

Interschool Design Competition
For over two decades, the three Washington area chapters of the American Institute of Architects and the National Building Museum have collaborated to organize the annual Interschool Design Competition. These competitions have helped open doors for students to the various local architectural curriculums and the architectural profession.

Who Participates?
Participants in this design competition are students at all levels enrolled in the area's university architecture programs, including the following accredited universities for 2019:

How the Competition Works
Teams of six are composed of sutdents from each Univeristy. At the kick-off event the students will meet their fellow teammates and will be told limited information about the program and be provided the site location. Teams are encouraged to visit the site and start planning strategies for the day of the competition. Teams are not provided the full program until the morning of the competition, when they will have a 9 hours to develop their entry. The entries are then judged by a panel of design professionals, winners are selected and prizes awarded at the Awards Ceremony which is followed by the Spotlight on Design Lecture at the National Building Museum.

The 2019 events will include a Kick-Off Reception the evening of Thursday, September 19th. The competition begins early Sunday morning, September 22nd. Students will gather in teams of six with members from each university. After a full day of design and collaboration, they will submit their entries for jury deliberation. The jury will be led by Gerdo Aquino, FASLA. On Monday, September 23, the winning teams will be announced at the National Building Museum during the Spotlight on Design.

Thank you to all of the sponsors who help make the Competition possible. Our 2019 Sponsors are:

Platinum Sponsor:

Gold Sponsor:

Silver Sponsors:
Newman Architects
Wiley Wilson

Bronze Sponsors:
17/27 Design Studio

For questions, please contact Sonia R. Jarboe, AIA, Co-Chair of the ISDC Planning Committee.