AIA Northern Virginia
award categories
Institutional Architecture
Building design projects involving structures for education, religion and government.

Commercial Architecture
Building design projects involving structures for commerce, including but not limited to: office, retail, multiple-family housing and food service.

Residential Architecture
Single-family residential projects, including homes, additions, restorations, renovations and interiors.

Commercial Interiors
Projects involving primarily the design of commercial interior spaces.

Historic Architecture
Building design projects involving the preservation, restoration, rehabilitation, or sympathetic adaptive reuse of older structures. Projects must remain historic in character.

Conceptual / Unbuilt Architecture
Works that remain unbuilt, but are worthy of the attention of colleagues and the public. Winning Conceptual / Unbuilt entries are not eligible for resubmission in built categories.

Urban Design + Master Planning
The AIA Northern Virginia awards program does not maintain a separate category for Urban Design and Master Planning projects - however, planning projects are welcome to be submitted for consideration under the category most appropriate to the specific project.

There are four major award designations: Award of Excellence, Award of Merit, Jurors' Citation and Jurors' Commendation for Responsible Design.

The Jurors' Citation is awarded, at the discretion of the jury, to a project that either lies outside of the base categories or bears an exceptional aspect or detail that the jury feels represents excellence which deserves specific honor. Entries may be eligible for special recognition for their application of ethical and responsible design principles.

The Jurors' Commendation for Responsible Design recognizes projects exemplifying elements of the AIA's Framework for Design Excellence.