AIA Northern Virginia
AIA Design Awards 2015
the jury
The Design Awards Committee is pleased to announce the selection of an exceptional jury from North Carolina for our 2015 Design Awards.

Jury I – Single Family Residential

Frank Harmon, FAIA
President - Frank Harmon Architect

Frank Harmon is an architect, educator and author of Native Places. He has designed sustainable modern buildings across the Southeast for 30 years. Founded in 1981, Frank Harmon Architect is a design studio of architects, designers and makers whose work engages pressing contemporary needs such as sustainability, placelessness and the restoration of cities and nature. A graduate of the Architectural Association in London, he is a Professor-in-Practice at the North Carolina State University College of Design. In 2013, he received the F. Carter Williams Gold Medal from the AIA North Carolina Chapter, the highest honor bestowed upon a North Carolina architect.

Kenneth E. Hobgood, FAIA
Principal - McMonigal Architects, LLC
Kenneth Hobgood received a Master of Architecture from Yale University in 1980. Before founding his firm, he worked under Mack Scoggin and Merill Elam in Atlanta. Kenneth has been an adjunct professor at North Carolina State University since 1988 and has served as visiting critic/lecturer at Carnegie Mellon, Georgia Tech and Auburn. In 1997 he received the Kamphoefner Prize for his "consistent integrity and devotion to architecture." With a $10,000 cash prize it is considered the most prestigious award for design in North Carolina. In 2008 he was inducted into the AIA's College of Fellows. His firm has won 55 AIA design awards for local, state and regional work and his projects have been published and exhibited in Japan, England, Italy, Germany and the United States.

Erin Sterling Lewis, AIA
Principal - in situ studio
Erin Sterling Lewis is a native of Illinois, grew up in Mississippi and earned a BArch from the University of Kentucky in 2002. Before founding in situ studio, Erin worked at Frank Harmon Architect, where she played an integral role in various projects, including the AIA North Carolina Center for Architecture and Design. She has served on both the Raleigh Historic Districts Commission and the Raleigh Planning Commission, and currently serves on the advisory board for the NCSU College of Design School of Architecture. Erin is active on the AIA North Carolina Board of Directors and has served as the Young Architects Forum Director as well as Chair of the Programs Committee for AIA NC's Center for Architecture and Design. She is currently AIA NC Treasurer.

Sara Glee Queen, Associate AIA
Assistant Professor - School of Architecture at the College of Design, North Carolina State University
Sara Queen received her Bachelor of Environmental Design in Architecture from North Carolina State University and her Masters in Architecture from the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University. She has worked with Frank Harmon Architect as a lead designer and project manager and is currently a project manager at Joe Sam Queen Architect in western North Carolina. At NC State, Sara teaches undergraduate and graduate design studios as well as urban focused research seminars. Her ongoing research investigates infrastructural networks through mapping methodologies and visualization strategies with the goal of facilitating deeper, more diverse understandings of urban systems and the processes which shape physical place, cultural space and social territory.

Jury II – Commercial, Institutional, Commercial Interiors, Historic, Conceptual/Unbuilt, Detail and the Herlong Award

Frank Harmon, FAIA
President - Frank Harmon Architect
Please see biography above.

Jeffrey L. Paine, AIA
Managing Partner - Duda|Paine Architects
Jeffrey Paine believes exceptional architecture comes from a process that balances sound decision-making, strong relationships and sustained craft. He has worked in several notable architectural firms, including Kevin Roche John Dinkeloo & Associates and Cesar Pelli & Associates, where he was a Senior Associate. His portfolio includes urban master planning and institutional projects as well as multi-phase large-scale commercial projects such as the World Financial Center in New York City and London's Canary Wharf. He frequently lectures graduate students in architecture, real estate development and business about professional practice.

Katherine N. Peele, FAIA
Executive Vice President of Practice - LS3P
With offices in Raleigh, Wilmington and Charlotte, North Carolina and Charleston, Columbia, and Greenville, South Carolina, LS3P is one of the Carolina's largest architectural firms. Katherine joined the firm in 1988 and has served as a project architect, project manager, principal architect and Raleigh office managing principal, in the course of her 27 year career with LS3P. She is an AIA Fellow and is the recipient of the Dietrick Medal from AIA North Carolina. She also served as AIA North Carolina Chapter President in 2000. Katherine was Valedictorian of her 1988 graduating class from North Carolina State University, earning her Bachelor of Architecture degree.

Dennis E. Stallings, FAIA
Principal | Design Director - Clark Nexsen
As an accomplished practitioner and educator, Dennis Stallings has raised the standard of design in his firm. He is a true advocate for building and client and combines his design skills and open, collaborative manner with absolute integrity towards his staff, clients and students. Dennis has served on design juries for AIA chapters across the country, including the Boston Society of Architects, AIA Indiana, AIA Georgia and AIA Philadelphia. In addition to private practice, he has taught at the College of Design at North Carolina State University for the last 22 years where he is a Professor of Practice as well as a member of the School of Architecture's Advisory Board. Dennis was elevated to the AIA College of Fellows in 2014.

The composition of the jury is at the Committee's discretion and is not subject to review. Projects shall be considered on their own merits regardless of size, scope, or cost. The jury's decisions are final and not subject to review.